ADTA Approved Graduate Programs in Dance/Movement Therapy

The ADTA approves programs that meet the requirements stated in the ADTA Standards for Graduate Dance/Movement Therapy Programs. Graduates of approved programs meet all professional requirements for the Registered Dance/Movement Therapist (R-DMT) credential.

 

Dance/movement therapy graduate programs educate students in the content areas of psychological theory, human development, multicultural perspectives, group process, behavioral research, psychopathology, psychodiagnosis and assessment skills; DMT theory, expressive and communicative aspects of verbal and non-verbal behavior, movement observation and analysis, human anatomy, kinesiology and basic neuroscience; and clinical applications of DMT with individuals, families and groups.  Programs also require and provide at least 700 hours of supervised clinical fieldwork and internships.


For further information about financial assistance, prerequisites, housing, etc. please contact each college or university directly. Note that most schools allow one or two courses to be taken without being accepted into the program.

 

Click on each university's name to link to their official website. 

 

ANTIOCH UNIVERSITY, NEW ENGLAND
40 Avon Street
Keene, NH 03431-3516
Telephone: 603-283-2137

Contact: Susan Loman, Director --- sloman@antioch.edu

Masters Program in Dance/Movement Therapy and Counseling, Department of Applied Psychology. 


COLUMBIA COLLEGE, CHICAGO

600 S Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60605-9988
Telephone: 312-369-7697

Contact: Bethany Brownholtz --- bbrownholtz@colum.edu

Masters Program in Dance/Movement Therapy and Counseling. Department of Creative Arts Therapies

 

DREXEL UNIVERSITY

Mail/Stop 905, 1505 Race Street, 10th Floor Bellet
Philadelphia, PA 19102-1192
Telephone: 215-762-6921

Contact: Rachel Ward --- rachel.ward@drexel.edu

Masters Program Dance/Movement Therapy, Creative Arts Therapies Department.

 

LESLEY UNIVERSITY
29 Everett Street

Cambridge, MA 02138
Telephone: 617-349-8307

Contact: Nancy Beardall --- beardall@lesley.edu

Masters Program in Expressive Therapies: Dance Therapy with a Specialization in Mental Health Counseling, Division of Expressive Therapies.

 

NAROPA UNIVERSITY
2130 Arapahoe Avenue

Boulder, CO 80302-6697
Telephone: 303-245-4828 and 800-772-6951

Contact: Kelly Watt, Admissions --- kwatt@naropa.edu or Wendy Allen, --- wallen@naropa.edu

Masters Program in Somatic Counseling Psychology with Concentration in Dance/Movement Therapy, Somatic Counseling Psychology Department.

 

PRATT INSTITUTE
200 Willoughby Avenue

Brooklyn NY 11205
Telephone: 718-399-4274

Contact: Joan Wittig, Assistant Professor --- jwittig@pratt.edu

Masters Program in Dance/Movement Therapy, Creative Arts Therapy Department.

 

 

SARAH LAWRENCE COLLEGE*

1 Mead Way

Bronxville, NY 10708

Telephone: 914-395-2371

Contact: Cathy Appel, Director --- cappel@sarahlawrence.edu

              Susan Guma, Dean of Graduate Studies --- sguma@sarahlawrence.edu

MS Degree Program in Dance/Movement Therapy.

*The DMT program at Sarah Lawrence College is in candidacy to become an approved program by the American Dance Therapy Association

 

 


 


EMAIL US   |   ADDRESS: 10632 Little Patuxent Parkway, Suite 108, Columbia, MD 21044

PHONE: 410.997.4040   FAX: 410.997.4048   | Copyright ADTA 2009


website by chrishillmedia.com
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software

 
 

 



EMAIL US   |   ADDRESS: 10632 Little Patuxent Parkway, Suite 108, Columbia, MD 21044

PHONE: 410.997.4040   FAX: 410.997.4048   | Copyright ADTA 2014 © All Rights Reserved


website by chrishillmedia.com
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software