Approved Graduate Programs

ADTA Approved Graduate Programs in Dance/Movement Therapy

The ADTA approves programs that meet the requirements stated in the ADTA Standards for Graduate Dance/Movement Therapy Programs. Graduates of approved programs meet all professional requirements for the Registered Dance/Movement Therapist (R-DMT) credential. As of January 1, 2023, all approved programs will need to be in compliance with the revised ADTA Standards for Education and Clinical Practice. 
ADTA Standards for Education and Clinical Practice (effective January 1, 2023)
ADTA Standards for Dance Movement Therapy Master’s Programs (effective through December 31, 2022)

Dance/movement therapy graduate programs educate students in the content areas of psychological theory, human development, multicultural perspectives, group process, behavioral research, psychopathology, psychodiagnosis and assessment skills; DMT theory, expressive and communicative aspects of verbal and non-verbal behavior, movement observation and analysis, human anatomy, kinesiology and basic neuroscience; and clinical applications of DMT with individuals, families and groups.  Programs also require and provide at least 700 hours of supervised clinical fieldwork and internships.

For further information about financial assistance, prerequisites, housing, etc. please contact each college or university directly. Note that most schools allow one or two courses to be taken without being accepted into the program.

 

ANTIOCH UNIVERSITY, NEW ENGLAND

40 Avon Street
Keene, NH 03431-3516
Telephone: 603-283-2137
Website: http://www.antiochne.edu/applied-psychology/dance-movement-therapy/

Contact: Susan Loman, Director — sloman@antioch.edu

Masters Program in Dance/Movement Therapy and Counseling, Department of Applied Psychology.

COLUMBIA COLLEGE CHICAGO

600 S Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60605-9988
Telephone: 312-369-7697
Website: http://www.colum.edu/academics/fine-and-performing-arts/creative-arts-therapies/index.html

Contact: Emily Schmidt mailto:eschmidt@colum.edu 312-369-7298

Masters Program in Dance/Movement Therapy and Counseling. Department of Creative Arts Therapies

DREXEL UNIVERSITY, PHILADELPHIA

Mail Stop 7905, Three Parkway, 7th Floor, Suite 7103, 1601 Cherry Street
Philadelphia, PA 19102
Telephone: 267-359-5511
Website: http://drexel.edu/cnhp/academics/graduate/MA-Dance-Movement-Therapy-Counseling/

Contact: Kristen Scatton – kristen.scatton@drexel.edu

Masters Program Dance/Movement Therapy and Counseling, Creative Arts Therapies Department.

LESLEY UNIVERSITY, CAMBRIDGE, MA

29 Everett Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
Telephone: 617-349-8413
Website: http://www.lesley.edu/master-of-arts/expressive-therapies/dance-therapy/mental-health-counseling/

Contact: Nancy Beardall — beardall@lesley.edu

M.A. In Clinical Mental Health Counseling: Specialization Dance/Movement Therapy

NAROPA UNIVERSITY, BOULDER, CO

2130 Arapahoe Avenue
Boulder, CO 80302-6697
Telephone: 303-546-3572 and 800-772-6951
Website: http://www.naropa.edu/academics/masters/clinical-mental-health-counseling/somatic-counseling/dance-movement-therapy/index.php

Contact: Stephanie San German, Admissions — ssangerman@naropa.edu or Wendy Allen — wallen@naropa.edu

Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling Concentration in Somatic Counseling: Dance/Movement Therapy

PRATT INSTITUTE, Brooklyn, NY

200 Willoughby Avenue
Brooklyn NY 11205
Telephone: 718-399-4274
Website: https://www.pratt.edu/academics/school-of-art/graduate-school-of-art/creative-arts-therapy/creative-arts-therapy-degrees/dance-movement-therapy-ms/

Contact: Joan Wittig, Assistant Professor — jwittig@pratt.edu

Masters Program in Dance/Movement Therapy, Creative Arts Therapy Department.

SARAH LAWRENCE COLLEGE, Bronxville, NY

1 Mead Way
Bronxville, NY 10708
Telephone: 914-395-2371
Website: https://www.sarahlawrence.edu/dance-movement-therapy/#.TxnU6bNnV6c.email

Contact: Elise Risher, Interim Director — erisher@sarahlawrence.edu

Jennifer Lemiech-Iervolino, Coordinator of DMT Administrative Services: jlemiech@sarahlawrence.edu
Emanuel Lomax, Graduate Admissions: elomax@sarahlawrence.edu

MS Degree Program in Dance/Movement Therapy.

Simple Share ButtonsShare:
Simple Share Buttons