Undergraduate Preparation

Undergraduate Coursework

Dance/Movement Therapy is a degree at the Master’s level.  When it comes to an undergraduate degree, there is no specific major required.  However, it is a good idea to have substantial exposure to topics related to both dance and psychology at the undergraduate level.  For specific prerequisites, please contact each graduate program directly.

The following institutions have courses that help students evaluate their interest in dance/movement therapy.

 

DREXEL UNIVERSITY

Department of Performing Arts
2018 MacAlister Hall
3141 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Telephone: 215-895-4814

Contact: Dr. Miriam Giguere — danceprogram@drexel.edu

ENDICOTT COLLEGE

School of Visual and Performing Arts
376 Hale Street
Beverly, MA 01915
Telephone: 978-232-2421

Contact: Audrey LaVallee — audrey.lavallee@gmail.com

 

GOUCHER COLLEGE

Dance Department
Dulaney Valley Road
Towson, MD 21204
Telephone: 410-337-6390

Contact: Sara Workeneh, MA, BC-DMT, NCC — sworkeneh@verizon.net

 

LESLEY UNIVERSITY

Expressive Arts Therapy Department
29 Everett Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
Telephone: 617-349-8413

Contact: Nancy Beardall, BC-DMT — beardall@lesley.edu

 

MANHATTANVILLE COLLEGE

Dance and Theatre Department
2900 Purchase
Purchase, NY 10577
Telephone: 914-323-5458

Contact: Michael Posnick, Director — Michael.Posnick@mville.edu

 

QUEENS COLLEGE: Department of Drama, Theatre and Dance

65-30 Kissena Blvd.

Flushing, NY 11367

Telephone: 718-997-3075

Contact: Ira Hauptman, Acting Chair — ira.hauptman@qc.cuny.edu
RED ROCKS COMMUNITY COLLEGE: Holistic Health Department

13300 West Sixth Avenue

Lakewood, CO 80228

Telephone: 303-914-6333

Contact: Rita Stoffel, Coordinator — rita.stoffel@rrcc.edu
RUSSELL SAGE COLLEGE: Creative Arts Therapy Department

65 1st Street

Troy, NY 12180

Telephone: 518-244-2437

Contact: Leigh Davies, Associate Professor — daviel@sage.edu
UNIVERSITY OF THE ARTS: School of Dance

320 Broad Street

Philadelphia, PA 19102

Telephone: 800-616-ARTS

Contact: Susan Glazer, Professor — sglazer@uarts.edu
University of Miami: Frost School of Music-Dance Program
1320 S. Dixie Highway

Coral Gables, Florida 33146

Telephone: 305-284-2521

Contact: Carol Kaminsky MA, BC-DMT – —-c.kaminsky@miami.edu

UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-MADISON: Dance Department

Lathrop Hall, 1050 University Avenue

Madison, WI, 53706

Telephone: 608-262-1691

Contact: Rena Kornblum, MCAT, BC-DMT — rbkornbl@wisc.edu

Columbia College Chicago

Department of Creative Arts Therapies

600 S. Michigan Avenue

Chicago, IL 60605

(312) 369-7097

Contact: Susan Imus – simus@colum.edu

Nazareth College

Department of Theatre and Dance

4245 East Ave.

Rochester, NY 14618

www.naz.edu

B.S. in Dance Studies

Dance (Minor)

Contact:  
Heather Roffe Wiktorski, Director, Professor of Dance
585-389-2163
hroffe4@naz.edu
Arts Center 22
http://catalog.naz.edu/preview_program.php?catoid=73&poid=8093&returnto=1934
Simple Share ButtonsShare:
Simple Share Buttons